All colleagues of the unit

BUGYI, Beáta

BUGYI, Beáta


associate professor

Department of Biophysics

Telefon: 36265

Supervisor of the following TDK topics

Supervisor: BUGYI, Beáta

Directed axonal growth depends on proper coordination of the actin and microtubule cytoskeleton in the growth cone. Although the mechanisms whereby actin polymerization is coupled to microtubule stabilization and advancement in the peripheral growth cone remained largely unclear. We have shown that the formin protein Disheveled-associated activator of morphogenesis (DAAM) can bind to both actin filaments and microtubules and physically crosslink the two different cytoskeletal polymers. Moreover, DAAM associates to the microtubule end binding EB1 protein. These interactions can have relevance in the functioning of the actin and microtubule cytoskeleton dynamics in neurons.


We aim to dissect the molecular mechanisms underlying the concerted action of DAAM and EB1 in the regulation of the neuronal actin and microtubule cytoskeleton. The following questions are addressed:

Which regions of DAAM and EB1 mediate the interaction of the two proteins?

How does the actin/microtubule related activities of DAAM and EB1 are influenced in the complex?


You can get expertise in the following approaches: purification of your protein of interest from tissue or recombinantly, molecular biology, liquid chromatography, sedimentation, diverse biochemical, fluorescence spectroscopy and total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy.




Szikora S et al. The formin DAAM is required for coordination of the actin and microtubule cytoskeleton in axonal growth cones. JOURNAL OF CELL SCIENCE 2017


Vig A et al. The activities of the c-terminal regions of the formin protein disheveled-associated activator of morphogenesis (daam) in actin dynamics. JOURNAL OF BIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY 2017


Barkó Sz et al. Characterization of the biochemical properties and biological function of the formin homology domains of Drosophila DAAM. JOURNAL OF BIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY 2010